Green Rating Systems Prevalent in Different Parts of the World

BREEAM (Building Research Establishment Environmental Assessment Method)

Applicable in Countries- Applicable in many countries across Europe and the world

Fundamentals- BREEAM is the First published and world's longest established method of assessing, rating, and certifying the sustainability of buildings by the Building Research Establishment (BRE) in 1990. Voluntary but has been made mandatory for new construction in the UK.

Major Emphasis- sustainability assessment method for master planning projects, infrastructure, and buildings.

Rating Levels-

  • Outstanding ≥ 85
  • Excellent ≥ 70
  • Very Good ≥55
  • Good ≥ 45
  • Pass ≥ 30
  • Unclassified < 30
Credits: BREEAM

Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED)

Applicable in Countries- one of the most prevalent green building certification programs used globally, it is recognized as a symbol of sustainability achievement and leadership.

Fundamentals- LEED is Developed by the non-profit U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) for encouraging environmental responsibility and resource consumption efficiently among building owners and operators. It includes a set of rating systems for the design, construction, operation, and maintenance of green buildings, homes, and neighborhoods.

Major Emphasis- LEED provides a framework for healthy, highly efficient, and cost-saving green buildings. 

Rating Levels- 

  • Certified: 40–49 points
  • Silver: 50–59 points
  • Gold: 60–79 points
  • Platinum: 80+ points
Credits: LEED

Pearl Rating System

Applicable in Countries- The system can be applied to communities, buildings, and villas, with different requirements for each.

Fundamentals- developed by the Abu Dhabi Urban Planning Council as part of their sustainable development initiative, Estidama means sustainability in Arabic and is mandatory for all new development projects within the emirate of Abu Dhabi. The four pillars of Estidama are environmental, economic, cultural, and social.

Major Emphasis- Integrated Development Process, Natural Systems, Livable Communities/ Buildings/ Villas, Precious Water, Resourceful Energy, Stewarding Materials, Innovating Practice

Credit system- stages of certification

  • The first stage is the Pearl Design (building permit)
  • The second stage is the Pearl Construction Rating (certificate of completion)
  • The third stage is the Pearl Operations Rating

Rating Levels- 

  • 1 Pearl- Mandatory Credits (MC)
  • 2 Pearl- MC + 60 credit points
  • 3 Pearl- MC + 80 credit points
  • 4 Pearl- MC + 115 credit points
  • 5 Pearl- MC + 140 credit points
Credits: Estidama Pearl Rating System

Green Star

Applicable in Countries- Applicable in Australia & New Zealand

Fundamentals-Launched by the Green Building Council of Australia (GBCA), Green Star is a voluntary and truly holistic sustainability rating system trying to reduce the impact of climate change. It is applicable for buildings, fit-outs, and communities trying to escalate by contributing to the market transformation and a sustainable economy.

Major Emphasis- assesses the sustainable design, construction, and operation of buildings, fit-outs, and communities.

Rating Levels-

  • 1 star- 10+ (Minimum Practice)
  • 2 star- 20+
  • 3 star- 30+
  • 4 star- 45+
  • 5 star- 60+ (Australian Excellence)
  • 6 star- 75+ (World Leadership)
Credits: Green Star

Green Building Index (GBI)

Applicable in Countries- Applicable in Malaysia

Fundamentals- Malaysia's most recognized green rating tool for the building industry to promote sustainability in the built environment and raise awareness about environmental issues and one's responsibility to the future generations.

Major Emphasis- designed and operated to reduce the overall impact of the built environment on its surroundings

Rating Levels-

  • Platinum >86
  • Gold- 76 to 85
  • Silver- 66 to 75
  • Certified- 50 to 75
Credits: Green Building Index

BCA Green Mark

Applicable in Countries- Applicable in Singapore

Fundamentals- green building rating system to evaluate a building for its environmental impact and performance. Promotes sustainable design and good practices in the construction and operation of buildings.  

Major Emphasis- Climatic responsive design, Building energy performance, Resources stewardship, Smart and healthy building, and advance green efforts

Rating Levels-

  • 50 to 75- Certified
  • 75 to 85- Gold
  • 85 to 90- Gold plus
  • 90 above- Platinum
Credits: Green Mark

Green Globes

Applicable in Countries- Applicable in the USA and Canada

Fundamentals- Green Globes is a self-assessment to be operated in-house by a project manager and design team. The system is a simple questionnaire-based supported with pop-up guidance and an online manual is also available for supporting the users throughout.

Major Emphasis- is an online assessment protocol, rating system, and guidance for green building design, operation, and management

Rating Levels-

  • 85%-100%  leadership, and excellent practices of energy, water, and environmental efficiency
  • 70%-84% leadership in applying practices concerning energy, water, and environmental efficiency
  • 55%-69% progress in the reduction of energy usage, and the use of sustainable practices
  • 35%-54% a pledge to be environmentally conscious
Credits: Green Globes

GRIHA Green Rating for Integrated Habitat Assessment

Applicable in Countries- Applicable in India

Fundamentals- GRIHA is a home-grown national rating system of India for any completed construction keeping integrity, credibility, and inclusiveness as the core values. It is an assessment tool to measure and rate a building’s performance deeply rooted in the Indian ethos.

Major Emphasis- attempt to minimize a building’s resource consumption, waste generation, and overall ecological impact to within certain nationally acceptable benchmarks.

Rating Levels- Star rating

  • 1 star- 50 to 60
  • 2 star- 61 to 70
  • 3 star- 71 to 80
  • 4 star- 81 to 90
  • 5 star- 91 to 100
Credits: GRIHA


Applicable in Countries- Applicable in India

Fundamentals- The rating system is built on the five elements of nature (Panchabhutas), a perfect blend of ancient architectural practices and modern technological innovations applicable to all five climatic zones of the country.

Major Emphasis- rating systems are voluntary, consensus-based, market-driven building programmes.

Rating Levels- 

  • Certified: 51–60 points
  • Silver: 61–70 points
  • Gold: 71–80 points
  • Platinum: 81-100 points
Credits: IGBC

You may also like